Proudly Independent
The UK's best independent record shop
Access your saved basket or create new account


0 items
£ —

Latest Newsletter

Latest Stock

Records of the Month - January 2014

Records of the Week

Nick Cave: The Bad Seed

Lomography: The Wonderful World Of Analogue Photography

Essentials On Wax


  • CDSTUMM364CD  £8.00


  • LCDSTUMM364CD  £15.00

    2 CD / DVD (Live at Primavera)




To Be Kind

Swans new album will be available as a triple vinyl album, a double CD, and a 2XCD Deluxe Edition that will include a live DVD.

The album was produced by Michael Gira, and recorded by the venerable John Congleton at Sonic Ranch, outside El Paso Texas, and further recordings and mixing were accomplished in Dallas, Texas.

Musically 'To Be Kind' works as an exit door from previous album 'The Seer', a way for Gira to demonstrate how his new record won’t simply trail in the wake of that creation, instead taking him and his band into a whole other sphere of hurt. Like the best Swans work, it can be gentle, with subtle builds gradually coiling in the tension until bursts of discordant horn bring the ceiling crashing down in the most beautiful and violent way imaginable. It’s in those moments that Gira sounds unstoppable, and he is, with no sign of weakness in his battle-scarred troops, nor any indication that Swans are anything other than a prodigious force of nature, hurtling through time with a barely contained momentum.

At little over two hours this will be an epic sonic adventure that will rise above Swans already critically praised discography!

  • 1. Screen Shot
    2. Just A Little Boy (For Chester Burnett)
    3. A Little God In My Hands
    4. Bring The Sun/Toussaint L'Ouverture
    5. Some Things We Do
    6. She Loves Us
    7. Kirsten Supine
    8. Oxygen
    9. Nathalie Neal
    10. To Be Kind


    Swans live 2013 Primavera

    1. To Be Kind
    2. Just A Little Boy
    3. Coward
    4. She Loves Us
    5. Oxygen
    6. The seer / Toussaint L'Ouverture

Related Items