Access your saved basket or create new account



0 items
£ —

Latest Newsletter

Latest Stock

Records of the Week

Vinyl Deals


  • 47386106 x CD  £70.00Expected 30th October 2015



Fire & Skill: The Jam Live

It’s 40 years since classic The Jam line-up first started touring. The band had a phenomenal impact on pop music and wider youth culture. In their short career, they influenced a generation with their music, style, politics and inspiration.

With Somerset House’s current exhibition and Universal Music’s recent CD ‘About The Young Idea’ which both trace the band’s story in hits and images - Universal/Polydor now announce a live box set that follows the journey through incendiary concert recordings.
Named after the legend painted on Paul Weller’s amp, ‘Fire & Skill’ is a superb six disc box set – featuring six previously unreleased concerts, one from each year of their major-label career….

1. Starting with an early gig at London’s famous 100 Club from 1977, the show featured took place 10 months after they first played the venue in November 1976, and was recorded for broadcast on American radio ahead of the trio’s inaugural visit to US in October 1977 for a six-date tour.

2. A Music Machine show from 1978, featuring most of the 2nd album – ‘This Is The Modern World’. This was The Jam’s sixth live show of the year and one of four low-key shows in the capital to fanfare their new ‘News Of The World’ single under the banner ‘The London Blitz’.

3. Reading University – Feb 1979. Playing material from their breakthrough album ‘All Mod Cons’, this was The Jam’s first live appearance of 1979, and found the band in a radically different place to their showcase at the Music Machine 12 months before. In that time, their third album, ‘All Mod Cons’, had been released to critical acclaim, and their status as one of the New Wave’s most musically substantial and exciting bands had been secured. And Weller was still only 20 years old...

4. Newcastle City Hall – October 1980, previewing songs from forthcoming album ‘Sound Affects’. In the time between the show at Reading University (on Disc 3) and this appearance at Newcastle City Hall 20 months later, there had been more extraordinary developments in the group’s world. ‘Setting Sons’, their fourth album, had given them a Top 3 hit with ‘The Eton Rifles’, which was followed in February 1980 with the stirring Number 1 single, ‘Going Underground’. After three years on Polydor, The Jam had finally become the biggest group in the UK.

5. London’s legendary Hammersmith Palais – December 1981. Part of The Jam’s four consecutive nights, previewing material from the forthcoming final album ‘The Gift’. The shows took in the innovative form of a ‘60s soul revue, showcasing new acts including Bananarama, Department S and TV21.

6. One of the band’s final ever gigs at Wembley Arena – December 1982. Late in 1982 The Jam announced they were splitting up - there would, though, be a final chance for fans to experience The Jam’s astonishing live shows, with a 14-date ‘farewell’ tour announced. The centrepiece was a five-night stand at Wembley Arena, the 10,000-capacity shed next to the London football stadium (the recording here is from the second date), the biggest live venue in the capital.

* Packaged in mini, lift-off lid box with 72-page, colour hard-back book.
* Individual gatefold wallets for the discs, designed as facsimiles of the original tape boxes.
* Includes new essay, period photos, rare memorabilia and set of five postcard prints.
* Remastered at Abbey Road.
* Featuring stunning live versions of all the band’s classic hits and favourites of which only 11 tracks previously released.

  • Disc One
    Live at the 100 Club – 11th September 1977
    1. I’ve Changed My Address
    2. Carnaby Street
    3. The Modern World
    4. Time For Truth
    5. So Sad About Us
    6. London Girl
    7. In The Street Today
    8. Standards
    9. All Around The World
    10. London Traffic
    11. Heat Wave
    12. Sweet Soul Music (b-side of ‘Modern Word’ single)
    13. Bricks And Mortar (b-side of ‘Modern Word’ single)
    14. In The City
    15. Art School
    16. Back In My Arms Again (b-side of ‘Modern Word’ single)
    17. Slow Down
    18. In The Midnight Hour
    19. Sounds From The Street
    20. Takin’ My Love
    21. In The City (encore)

    Disc Two
    Live at the Music Machine - 2nd March 1978

    1. The Modern World
    2. London Traffic
    3. I Need You
    4. The Combine
    5. Aunties And Uncles
    6. Standards
    7. Here Comes The Weekend
    8. Sounds From The Street
    9. News Of The World
    10. London Girl
    11. In The Street Today
    12. Bricks And Mortar
    13. In The Midnight Hour
    14. Carnaby Street
    15. All Around The World
    16. Slow Down
    17. News Of The World (Sound-check – bonus track)

    Disc Three
    Live at Reading University – 16th February 1979
    1. The Modern World
    2. Sounds From The Street
    3. Away From The Numbers
    4. All Mod Cons To Be Someone
    5. It’s Too Bad
    6. Mr Clean
    7. Billy Hunt
    8. In The Street Today
    9. Standards (Originally released on ‘Dig The New Breed’ album 1982)
    10. Tonight At Noon
    11. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
    12. News Of The World
    13. Here Comes The Weekend
    14. Bricks And Mortar / Batman
    15. The Place I Love
    16. David Watts
    17. Heat Wave
    18. ‘A’ Bomb In Wardour Street

    Disc Four
    Live at Newcastle City Hall – 28th October 1980

    1. Intro
    2. Dreamtime
    3. Thick As Thieves
    4. Boy about Town
    5. Monday
    6. Going Underground
    7. Pretty Green
    8. Man In The Corner Shop
    9. Set The House Ablaze
    10. Private Hell
    11. Liza Radley
    12. Dreams Of Children
    13. The Modern World
    14. Little Boy Soldiers
    15. But I’m Different Now
    16. Start!
    17. Scrape Away
    18. Strange Town
    19. When You’re Young
    20. The Eton Rifles
    21. Billy Hunt
    22. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
    23. To Be Someone
    24. ‘A’ Bomb In Wardour Street
    25. David Watts

    Disc Five
    Live at Hammersmith Palais – 14th December 1981

    1. The Gift / Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
    2. Man In The Corner Shop (originally released on ‘Live Jam’ album 1993)
    3. Ghosts
    4. Absolute Beginners
    5. Town Called Malice (originally released on ‘Live Jam’ album 1993)
    6. Set The House Ablaze (Originally released on ‘Dig The New Breed’ album 1982)
    7. That’s Entertainment / Tales From The River Bank
    8. Precious
    9. Happy Together
    10. In The Crowd / David Watts
    11. Boy About Town
    12. Pretty Green
    13. Funeral Pyre (originally released on ‘Live Jam’ album 1993)
    14. Circus
    15. Going Underground
    16. Big Bird (Originally released on ‘Dig The New Breed’ album 1982)
    17. Little Boy Soldiers

    Disc Six
    Live at Wembley Arena – 2nd December 1982

    1. Start!
    2. It’s Too Bad
    3. Beat Surrender
    4. Away From The Numbers
    5. Ghosts
    6. In The Crowd
    7. Boy About Town
    8. Get Yourself Together
    9. All Mod Cons
    10. To Be Someone
    11. Smithers-Jones
    12. The Great Depression
    13. Move On Up
    14. When You’re Young
    15. David Watts
    16. Private Hell
    17. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
    18. Mr Clean
    19. Trans-Global Express
    20. Going Underground
    21. The Butterfly Collector (originally released on ‘Live Jam’ album 1993)
    22. Dreams Of Children
    23. The Gift

Related Items