Proudly Independent
The UK's best independent record shop
Access your saved basket or create new account


0 items
£ —

Latest Newsletter

Latest Stock

Double Albums for a Fiver

About Bloody Time!

Block Rockin' Beats

Blur Reissues

CD & LP Bargains


  • RTBELLA12CD  £ —Out of stock

Rough Trade

Various Artists

Rough Trade Shops Bella Union

“Looking back, as one must do when compiling any form of retrospective, is not something I had planned until I was to be 65, still a few good years away yet. So maybe that gives you a hint that I didn't exactly salivate at the idea of picking a small number of tracks from the last 15 years as some kind of complete representation of the label's output. For every artist and track I pick, there will be several more I cannot, and that is an uncomfortable feeling. Certainly before the time I took control of the label properly, around 2001, some of the artists signed were not wholly my choice and therefore not wholly my taste, so I decided that the only way for me to imbue this collection with the love and care it deserves was to make it as much of a personal one as I could, and most importantly to make it musically edifying to listen to. I hope I have managed to achieve this. There are so many notable absentees, bands that made great records for us, like Art of Fighting, The Autumns, Mazarin, Fionn Regan, Jetscreamer, Dustin O'Halloran, etc who all would have a legitimate claim to be included on such a compilation but frankly, this is not a full retrospective release, it is basically a little over 2 hours of music and as such can only touch on the diversity of the roster, the back catalogue and thereby give a small flavour of what we do. So, once I had decided that personal reflection was the only way to make this set feel authentic, the tracklisting flowed pretty easily and with the exclusive tracks several artists were able to record especially for this, I feel this is a lot more than just a dip into a catalogue. It looks to the future which is where I tend to live.”
Simon Raymonde, Bella Union

  • Disc 1
    1. M Ward - Primitive Girl
    2. Veronica Falls - Stephen
    3. Wild Nothing - Shadow
    4. Beach House - Lover Of Mine
    5. Andrew Bird - Effigy
    6. Laura Veirs - July Flame
    7. Fleet Foxes - Montezuma
    8. The Acorn - Crooked Legs
    9. John Grant - TC And The Honeybear
    10. Stephanie Dosen - Vinalhaven Harbour
    11. Explosions In The Sky - Your Hand In Mine
    12. Hannah Cohen - Don’t Say
    13. Poor Moon - Holiday
    14. Treefight For Sunlight - Time Stretcher
    15. Vetiver - More Of This
    16. Laurence Arabia - I’ve Smoked Too Much
    17. Cashier No. 9 - Oh Pity
    18. Marques Toliver - Magic Look

    Disc 2
    1. Van Dyke Parks - Be Careful
    2. Mountain Man - Buffalo
    3. Peter Broderick - Colin
    4. Midlake - The Jungler
    5. I Break Horses - Hearts (R.A.R Mix)
    6. Dirty Three - Everything's Fucked
    7. My Latest Novel - Wrongfully, I Rested
    8. The Czars - Goodbye
    9. Our Broken Garden - The Departure
    10. Lift To Experience - To Guard And To Guide You
    11. The Walkmen - The House You Made
    12. The Low Anthem - Down There By The Train
    13. Jonathan Wilson - Journey From Eden
    14. Zun Zun Egui - Battlefield
    15. Lanterns On The Lake - Below It
    16. Father John Misty - I Would Love You

Related Items