Proudly Independent
The UK's best independent record shop
Access your saved basket or create new account


0 items
£ —

Latest Newsletter

Latest Stock

Double Albums for a Fiver

Records of the Week 16th October

Bristol Rise Up!

CD & LP Bargains


  • NONG74CDCD  £ —Out of stock

Fierce Panda

Various Artists

Spirit Of Talk Talk

'Spirit Of Talk Talk' is a double album which features 30 contemporary acts from around the globe re-inventing, re-interpreting and just generally rebooting many of Talk Talk's greatest moments precisely 30 years since 'Talk Talk' made its mark on the mainstream. This twin CD opus comes swaddled in artwork by creative Talk Talk stalwart James Marsh and sees profits going to the Rare Bird Club. So it was 1982 when Mark Hollis and crew first soared into view with a slew of deceptively commercial hit singles. However by the time Talk Talk delivered the seminal 'The Colour Of Spring' album (their third) in 1986, which brilliantly merged pop instinct with experimental flair, they'd long since shed any hint of being mere also (duran du)rans. Whereupon Hollis turned his back on the mainstream completely and made three further albums (two as Talk Talk, one solo) of breathtaking scope and mindblowing minimalism before - obviously - fading from view. Some of the acts, notably King Creosote, White Lies, Zero 7, Turin Brakes, Goldheart Assembly, Joan As Police Woman and Linton Kwesi Johnson, will already be familiar to listeners. Many of them are creeping out of the shadows of outfits such as The Verve (RIP), Arcade Fire, Grandaddy, Electric Soft Parade, Guillemots and Bon Iver - we'll let you work out who. One of them, Ian Curnow, even played keyboards for Talk Talk first time around. There are collaborations and imaginations (gently) running riot but all the acts, be they old or new, are united by their enthusiasm and the fact that they have given their services and indeed recordings for free. The hope is that long term Talk Talk fans will discover some new likeminded loves among these acts, while followers of these current vagabonds will be exposed to the joys of the Talk Talk oeuvre. 'Spirit Of Talk Talk' then: 30 tracks. Two compact discs. Several labours of love. Perhaps even a notorious perfectionist such as Mark Hollis would appreciate the effort put into this project. Now, that's the spirit...

  • Disc: 1
    1. Lone Wolf Wealth
    2. Zero 7 (feat Only Girl) The Colour Of Spring
    3. S Carey (Bon Iver) I Believe In You
    4. Recoil (feat Shara Worden) Dum Dum Girl
    5. Duncan Sheik Life s What You Make It
    6. Thomas Feiner / Fyfe Dangerfield / Robbie Wilson The Rainbow
    7. Halloween, Alaska After The Flood
    8. Nils Frahm / Peter Broderick / Davide Rossi It s Getting Late In The Evening
    9. King Creosote Give It Up
    10. Lights (feat Darkstars) Living In The World
    11. Zelienople The Rainbow
    12. Joan As Police Woman- Myrrhman
    13. The Last Dinosaur - RuneII
    14. Jack Northover - ?
    Disc: 2
    1. The TenFiveSixty It s My Life
    2. Recoil (feat Linton Kwesi Johnson & Paul Marshall) Inheritance
    3. Turin Brakes Ascension Day
    4. White Belt Yellow Tag Today
    5. Ian Curnow (feat Human) I Don t Believe In You
    6. Goldheart Assembly Chameleon Day
    7. Matthias Vogt Trio April 5th
    8. Do Make Say Think New Grass
    9. Jason Lytle Tomorrow s Started
    10. White Lies Give It Up
    11. Lia Ices Time It s Time
    12. The Lovetones The Party s Over
    13. Thomas White Candy
    14. The Black Ships (feat Amelia Tucker) - Renee
    15. The Acorn Taphead
    16. Richard Reed Parry (Arcade Fire) I Believe In You

Related Items