Access your saved basket or create new account



0 items
£ —

Latest Newsletter

Latest Stock

Records of the Week

Joy Division Vinyl Reissues



  • FPOP177CDCD  £8.00

  • FPOP177LPLong Player  £15.00

Fortuna Pop

Evans The Death

Expect Delays

Indie Pop Evans the Death return with their anxiouslyawaited second album 'Expect Delays' Recorded again with producer Rory Atwell the album bristles with an underlying tension and veers from riproaring noise to quiet contemplation underpinned by Katherine Whitaker's extraordinary voice Still barely out of their teens there's a tremendous sense across Expect Delays of a band coming into their own honing a plethora of influences to make a sound that is uniquely them Each song on the album has a different feel to it some of them are melodic and pretty some of them heavy and dissonant and some of them are to quote guitarist Dan Moss a bit strange While retaining the postpunk and 90s altrock inspired elements that peppered their debut the music is more expressive heavier and more experimental and the lyrics more nuanced the sense of despair leavened by sharp wordplay and humour The unsettling undercurrent of melancholy and hopelessness that pervades the record has its roots in the last three years spent eking out an existence on the poverty line in Cameron's Britain leaving them with a succession of minimumwage jobs and unemployment benefits interviews As guitarist Dan Moss relates the album is about being in London and feeling hopeless and a bit lost Not having any money relationships falling apart things just not connecting or going anywhere and getting absolutely wasted all the time Named after the undertaker in Dylan Thomas's 'Under Milk Wood' the band's 2012 selftitled inaugural album saw critical acclaim from the likes of Q Uncut and Artrocker as well as radio play on BBC Radio 1 BBC 6Music and XFM After a change in lineup following the release of their debut the band regrouped around the core of brothers Dan and Olly Moss and singer Katherine Whitaker for the recording of 'Expect Delays' Drummer James Burkitt was recruited from Leeds' band The ABC Club to complete a taut new fourpieceLP 180 Gram With Art Print and Download

  • 1. Intrinsic Grey
    2. Terrified
    3. Sledgehammer
    4. Idiot Button
    5. Bad Year
    6. Just 60,00 More Days 'Til I Die
    7. Expect Delays
    8. Enabler
    9. Waste of Sunshine
    10. Shanty
    11. Clean Up
    12. Don't Laugh at My Angry Face
    13. Don't Beat Yourself Up

Related Items