Access your saved basket or create new account


0 items
£ —

Latest Stock

Albums Of the Year

Rise Essentials

US Import Vinyl

Children's Books

Do Books


  • KOMPAKTCD114CD  £10.00




Fantastic krautrock inspired soundscapes from Daniel Plessow (Motor City Ensemble) and Marcus Worgull (XX Remixes etc). Guest contributions from Jaki Liebezeit (Can) and Dominik Von Senger (Phantom Band)

The Green Mountain State isn't exactly known as an electronic-music hotbed, but that hasn't stopped two German musicians from adopting the state's name as their collaborative alias. Recording as Vermont, Marcus Worgull and Danilo Plessow will release their self-titled debut album in March on Cologne's Kompakt label.

It's the first time either artist has appeared on the titanic techno imprint, but Vermont's members are both well known for their respective solo work. Worgull, much like his Innervisions colleagues Dixon and Âme, is a careful craftsman of sensitive, understated epics, a style he put to excellent use in his remix of the xx's "Fiction." Plessow, better known as Motor City Drum Ensemble, is a devotee of classic, sample-heavy house; he paid tribute to his roots on his 2011 DJ Kicks mix, which featured songs from Mr. Fingers, Robert Hood, and Arthur Russell's Loose Joints alongside selections from Sun Ra, Tony Allen, and Aphex Twin. (It was also, incidentally, one of SPIN's 20 Best Dance Albums of 2011.)

For their self-titled debut, Kompakt promises "fourteen sleek soundscapes of almost krautrockish proportions." They recorded the album in Plessow's Cologne studio using an array of vintage analog synthesizers, and if it's Krautrock they're going for, they've turned to the right collaborators: Can's Jaki Liebezeit plays percussion on two songs, while Dominik von Senger (of the groups Phantom Band and Dunkelziffer, and recently found recording solo for New York's Golf Channel) plays guitar on three. Ireland's Dermot O'Mahony also appears on violin, while Cologne's Lena Willikens (a cult-favorite DJ and member, with Institut Für Feinmotorik's Melanie Wratil, of the noise duo Titanoboa) plays theremin.

  • LP Tracklisting:
    Side A:
    A1. Yaiza – DEU671400050
    A2. Rückzug
    A3. Ãœbersprung
    A4. Sharav 3 A5. Dynamik
    A6. Majestät

    Side B:
    B1. Cocos
    B2. Elektron
    B3. Katzenjammer
    B4. Droixhe
    B5. Ebbe
    B6. Montag

    Bonus 7''
    A: Macchina
    B: Lithium

    CD Tracklisting:
    01. Yaiza
    02. Rückzug
    03. Ãœbersprung
    04. Sharav
    05. Dynamik
    06. Majestät
    07. Cocos
    08. Elektron
    09. Katzenjammer
    10. Droixhe
    11. Macchina (Side A On Bonus 7-inch)
    12. Ebbe
    13. Lithium (Side B On Bonus 7-inch)
    14. Montag

Related Items