Access your saved basket or create new account



0 items
£ —

Latest Newsletter

Latest Stock

Records of the Week

33 1/3 Books

Fela Kuti: The Reissues


  • WARPLP217Long Player  £15.00

Warp Records


Glass Swords

After taking shape in the studio over the course of the past two years, ‘Glass Swords’ arrives, and as the otherworldly landscape of the album artwork suggests, it is epic and alien.

Glass Swords is almost entirely composed of dancefloor highs, a series of those hands-in-the-air peak-time moments that stick in the memory long after the rest of the night has turned hazy. Rustie constantly chases the next thrill, with rhythmic switch-ups and vivid synths firing in all directions as the album twists, turns and veers off at tangents; echoes of everything from early 90s rave and booty bass to Ginuwine's Pony (the belching bass of the aptly titled Ultra Thizz) indicate his own club tutelage. It's far from a scattershot ADD affair, though; fundamentally, Rustie has a knack for an irresistible hook, and for knowing when to stick with it and when to move on. He lands hammer blows of bass on Flash Back as a funked-up melody zigzags overhead; he cycles through the jabbing riff of Hover Traps in one sound after another, like a call-and-response among friends. "And you know I wanna ride out," croons fellow producer Nightwave on Surph, sounding utterly blissed out in the sweet shop of synths that surrounds her: by the time Glass Swords ends, she's singing for us all.

  • 01 - Glass Swords
    02 - Flash Back
    03 - Surph
    04 - Hover Traps
    05 - City Star
    06 - Globes
    07 - Ultra Thizz
    08 - Death Mountain
    09 - Cry Flames
    10 - After Light
    11 - Ice Tunnels
    12 - All Nite
    13 - Crystal Echo

Related Items