Proudly Independent
The UK's best independent record shop
Access your saved basket or create new account


0 items
£ —

Latest Newsletter

Latest Stock

Bobby Dylan: A Celebration!



All That Jazz!

Rise Merchandise


  • EDEN12 x CD  £10.00


Various Artists

Electric Eden: Unearthing Britain's Visionary Music

Based on the bestselling book by Rob Young, Electric Eden lets you hear how Britain’s traditional music was transformed by folk singers, guitar geniuses, psychedelic troubadours and jazz virtuosos. A generation of musicians drew inspiration from a rural paradise that nurtured the Indian summer of British folk-rock in the late 1960s and early seventies – an Albion dreamtime where mythical landscapes, creative isolation and pastoral time-travelling combined to forge the golden age of folk-rock.
This unique 2CD package was entirely compiled by Rob Young, author of the bestselling book, and includes a thorough and fascinating sleevenote written by Rob which details the story behind the selections. It comes in a stunning gatefold digipak sleeve which has a stickered front cover detailing the album's contents and features such purveyors of the genre as Fairport Convention, John Martyn, Bert Jansch, Pentangle and Nick Drake.

  • 1. Oak, Ash And Thorn - Peter Bellamy
    2. John Barleycorn (Must Die) - Traffic
    3. The Waggoner's Lad - Bert Jansch
    4. Stranger To Himself - Fairport Convention
    5. Reynardine - Archie Fisher
    6. Brother John - Bread, Love And Dreams
    7. Garden Song - Bill Fay
    8. Stranger In The World - Water Into Wine Band
    9. Willow Tree - Tudor Lodge
    10. Diana - Comus
    11. Yorric - Meic Stevens
    12. The Dream - The Magic Carpet
    13. The Pipe On The Hob - Sweeney's Men
    14. False Knight On The Road - Tim Hart & Maddy Prior
    15. Dark Haired Lady - Dr. Strangely Strange
    16. I Was A Young Man - Albion Country Band
    17. Music Of The Ages - C O B
    18. The Carman's Whistle - Roger Nicholson
    19. Fly High - Bridget St. John
    20. She Moves Through The Fair - John Martyn
    Disc: 2
    1. Roll Over Vaughn Williams - Richard Thompson
    2. The Lark In The Morning - Steeleye Span
    3. Country Road - Unicorn
    4. A Sailors Life - Fairport Convention
    5. Glasgerion - Trees
    6. Gypsy Davey - Fotheringay, Sandy Denny
    7. Black Country Rock - Trees
    8. Glistening Glyndebourne - John Martyn
    9. Paper And Smoke - Mike Cooper
    10. Mirage - Shelagh McDonald
    11. Disraeli's Problem - Spirogyra
    12. Time Machine - Mick Softley
    13. The Murder Of Maria Marten - Shirley Collins, Albion Country Band
    14. Jack Orion - Pentangle
    15. Painted Chariot - The Incredible String Band
    16. Voices - Nick Drake

Related Items