Access your saved basket or create new account


0 items
£ —

Latest Stock


Record Store Day 2016

Vinyl Deals

Music Books

Colouring Books


  • ERATP097CDCD  £10.00

  • ERATP097LELong Player  £ —Out of stock

    Limited Clear Vinyl

  • ERATP097LPLong Player  £18.00

    Black Vinyl.


Erased Tapes

Penguin Cafe

The Imperfect Sea

The iconic Penguin Cafe join the Erased Tapes family and open a brand new chapter to their unique world with new album The Imperfect Sea. A penguin stands in the middle of a scorching desert, far away from its natural habitat. This mirrors composer Arthur Jeffes’ journey and exploration into a new musical territory. Penguin Cafe have evolved into something of their own at the hands of Arthur who started the band in 2009 with the continuation and homage to his father’s legacy, to the late Simon Jeffes’ Penguin Cafe Orchestra. Now, their new album echoes reminiscent sounds that embrace the new. The album title refers to a saying by his father that “we wade in a sea of imperfections…”, reflecting upon the idea that beauty can be found amongst the chaos. “If there is a narrative to the album it’s coming to the acceptance of the imperfections in all aspects of life; moreover, the recognition that these imperfections and tiny randomnesses are in fact what make up the best parts”, Arthur explains. This has also been highlighted by the striking cover artwork designed by Feld under the art direction of label founder Robert Raths, resembling a lone figure adapting to and accepting its surrounding environment. Predominantly self-composed, the new album also features covers of electronic works by Simian Mobile Disco and Kraftwerk, along with a re-working of Simon's Now Nothing. Arthur has developed from the traditional folk and jazz heritage Penguin Cafe Orchestra is known for into another realm of blissful ambience and dance music, recreated using strictly acoustic elements.

  • 1. Ricercar
    2. Cantorum
    3. Control 1 (Interlude)
    4. Franz Schubert
    5. Half Certainty
    6. Protection
    7. Rescue
    8. Now Nothing (Rock Music)
    9. Wheels Within Wheels

Related Items