Access your saved basket or create new account


0 items
£ —

Latest Stock

2 for £5 Books

Record Store Day 2016

Albums Of the Week

Children's Books


  • 5366071CD  £15.00

    Double CD



Grace Jones

Warm Leatherette

One of rough trade's island 50th anniversary selection 50 crucial titles specially selected by us to highlight the unique contribution this seminal label has made to british music since 1959 in the late 1970's grace jones became something of a disco diva as she burst onto new yorks club scenes with disco hits such as 'i need a ma'n and 'do or die' however in 1980 following a new record deal with island records home to various reggae acts jones achieved further mainstream recognition with the superb 'warm leatherette album'

'Warm Leatherette represents a watershed moment in the career of Grace Jones. The first of her much loved and critically-lauded ‘Compass Point trilogy’ it saw the star embrace contemporaneous new wave (The Normal’s ‘Warm Leatherette’, The Pretenders’ ‘Private Life’), old soul (The Marvelettes’ ‘The Hunter Gets Captured By The Game’ and leftfield rock (Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers’ ‘Breakdown’, Roxy Music’s ‘Love Is The Drug’). All sounded like nothing you’d ever heard before once Grace had finished with them.

This is beautiful newly-remastered 27-track collection brings together the original ‘Warm Leatherette’ album with its attendant single mixes and B-sides plus rare in-era club and dub versions and instrumentals. Coming in stylish leatherette casing, it’s a perfect demonstration of players, writers and production team at the very top of their game, headed up by a singular performer reaching the apex of her career to that point.

  • Disc: 1
    1. Warm Leatherette
    2. Private Life
    3. A Rolling Stone
    4. Love Is The Drug
    5. The Hunter Gets Captured By The Game
    6. Bullshit
    7. Breakdown
    8. Pars
    9. Warm Leatherette
    10. Private Life
    11. A Rolling Stone
    12. Love Is The Drug
    13. The Hunter Gets Captured By The Game
    14. Pars

    Disc: 2
    1. Private Life
    2. Private Life
    3. She's Lost Control
    4. She's Lost Control
    5. Love Is The Drug
    6. Private Life
    7. She's Lost Control
    8. The Hunter Gets Captured By The Game
    9. Breakdown
    10. Pars
    11. Pars
    12. Love Is The Drug
    13. Private Life

Related Items