Access your saved basket or create new account


0 items
£ —

Latest Stock

US Import Vinyl

New Year New You

Do Books

Do It Yourself & Craft Inspiration

Our Top 30 Modern Classics


  • CIRCLP9CDCD  £10.00

Circus Records

Dr Meaker

Dirt Soul

One of the most exciting live dance music acts in the UK, Bristol dons Dr Meaker are set to drop their killer new album ‘Dirt & Soul’ through Circus Records on July 1st 2016. This effervescent 8 piece band combine live instruments with samples, studio electronics and big voices to create a seamless fusion of heavy underground D&B, hook laden-soul and classic songwriting that’s also dancefloor dynamite. ‘Dirt & Soul’ follows a string of four massively successful singles; ‘Fighter’, ‘Right Back’, ‘Good Fight’, and ‘Freaks’, the latter three of which were all playlisted on BBC Radio and are featured on the album. These bonafide radio, club and festival smashes are joined by other new anthems in waiting, like the epically-huge drama of ‘Deep In My Heart’ and the feelgood 70s soul sample vibes of ‘Wanna Feel Love’. But despite main man Clive Meaker’s deft hand at delivering such crowd-pleasing bangers, a key component in ‘Dirt & Soul’ is a demonstration of a stylistic diversity and new, previously unexplored sounds. ‘Remedy’s sub bass and neck snapping breaks propel a darker, more introspective style of breakbeat science, whilst ‘Glastonbury’ is a tribute to their favourite festival and captures perfectly its magic atmosphere of golden sunsets and stone circle sunrises. ‘You & I’ is rich, slow motion deep vocal house and the plaintive, smoky 2 step of ‘Is It You’ recalls classic Bristolia for a new generation. Album title track ‘Dirt & Soul’ demonstrates yet more diverse soundclashes in the form of a gospel-style torch song underpinned by a nasty p funk b-line. Dr Meaker are Clive Meaker (producer, synths), Laurent John (vocals), Tenisha Edwards (vocals), Ben Wood (sax), Sam Brown (sax), Simon Alexander (trumpet), Tom Wheeler (drums) and Mike Prince (bass guitar). The band are joined on the album by a bevy of awesome vocalists and musicians: Yolanda Quartey (Duke Dumont, Chase & Status, Route 94), Sian Evans (DJ Fresh, Kosheen), Sharlene Hector (Basement Jaxx. Blonde), Mark Crown (Rudimental), Romaine Smith, Lorna King, Celestine and Laurent John all feature.

  • 1Deep in My Heart
    2Right Back (Album Edit)
    3Wanna Feel Love
    7You & I
    8Good Fight (Album Edit)
    9Is It You
    10Freaks (Album Edit)
    13Dirt & Soul